Alpha Zeta Gamma Chapter Inducts New Members

published May 6, 2023Alpha Zeta Gamma Chapter Inducts New Members

The Alpha Zeta Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa held their annual induction ceremony April 2, 2023, in Culbertson Auditorium at Highland Community College. The Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony is a special event that celebrates the academic achievements of students who have been accepted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for completing 12 or more college credit hours with a GPA of 3.5 or higher. It was an opportunity for students to be recognized for their hard work and dedication to their studies. During the ceremony, inductees were presented with certificates and white roses that signify their membership in the society. The ceremony also included a detailed explanation of the PTK key and symbols. Students heard from guest speakers Pamela Fulbright and HCC President and PTK alum, Deborah Fox.  


This year’s ceremony was quite small with only six members taking part out of the 30 new students who accepted membership for the 2022-2023 academic year. Among them was Derek Scheuerman, who along with Claire Geiger, was named to the 2023 All-Kansas Academy Team. Derek was recognized for this honor and presented with a $500 scholarship from the HCC Foundation. Other inductees included Rayne Berkhalter (President), Lena Visarius (Vice President), Gunnar Fort (Social Media Manager), Maddison Bowen, Faith Collins and Michael Lackey.


A small reception was held after the ceremony for inductees to celebrate their accomplishments with family, friends and faculty members. The Yost Gallery was open for guests to view the exhibit featuring works from local artists Connie Herbster and Mark Ralston.  


Following is the full list of students accepting membership into the Alpha Zeta Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa for the 2022-2023 academic year.  


Sophia Abdalla 

Rosa Anguiano 

Rayne Berkhalter 

Kristin Biltoft 

Jessica Buhrman 

Clayon Cooper 

Elizabeth Easterday 

Maria Fernandez 

Gunnar Fort 

Kole Franken 

Sean Goings 

Kayly Guthrie 

Haley Hetrick 

Emma Kreisel 

Dakota Kurtz 

Michael Lackey 

Harrison Loudon 

Garneisha Love 

Brianna Maldonado 

Med McCallum 

Colton McMullen 

Aaron Quillen 

Kyla Reel 

Ward Richardson 

Derek Scheuerman 

Abigail Smith 

Ellie Stember 

Grace Utz 

Lena Visarius 

Back to News »

What's Happening At Highland