Highland Holds PTK Inductions

published April 23, 2014Highland Holds PTK Inductions

Cutline: Highland Community College students and advisors pose following the PTK Formal Induction Ceremony.  Front row from left:  Annie Ross, Erin Clary, Wade Maddox, Nikki Boos, Kayla Bales, Terri Simmons, Ashley Lowe, Mackenzie King, Crystal Hoard, Lindsey Lierz

Back row left to right:  Amanda Wilhelm, Margy Heddens (advisor), Madison Book, Thaina Dos Santos, Aisha Diveley, Tanner Aherin, Deondre Harris, McKenna Boller, Mikayla Ellwanger, William Young, Keshana Cook, and Harry Moeller (advisor).

Highland Holds PTK Induction

The Highland Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, inducted 34 new members at the Formal Induction Ceremony held on the Highland campus in February.  The new inductees, who must have at least a 3.5 grade point average, were welcomed by Alpha Zeta Gamma Chapter president Erin Clary (Troy), who introduced the guest speaker, Heather Duncan, the vice president of the Northern District from Fort Scott.  Following the Induction Ceremony, those attending heard closing remarks from Harry Moeller, PTK advisor and biology instructor at the College.  Moeller is joined in advising the Alpha Zeta Gamma chapter by mathematics instructor Margy Heddens.  The Highland chapter officers, in addition to Clary, are Terri Simmons ( ), secretary/public relations officer; Amanda Wilhelm ( ) vice president of fundraisers; Michaela Haverkamp, vice president of scholarship. 

The new members of the Alpha Zeta Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa are:

Tanner Aherin (Phillipsburg)

David Amer (Shawnee Mission)

Kayla Bales (Muscotah)

Olivia Baumgartner (Bern)

Kaylie Berkley (Dexter)

Kassiday Blevins (Highland)

McKenna Boller (Horton)

Madison Book (Hiawatha)

Keshana Cook (Highland)

Aisha Diveley (Severance)

Thaina Dos Santos (Topeka)

Mikayla Ellwanger (Fairview)

JJ Hajeer (Troy)

Deondre Harris (Atchison)

Ashlee Herken (Oskaloosa)

Crystal Hoard (Randolph)

Kellyn Holt (Peck)

Kraeton Kelso (Highland)

Mackenzie King (Topeka)

Ashley Lowe (Hiawatha)

Kireston Luptak (Highland)

Wade Maddox (Falls City)

Joshua Pasley (Lenexa)

Kaley Pyles (DeKalb, MO)

Elias Relford (Saint Joseph)

Faith Rolen (Carrolton, TX)

Annie Ross (Olsburg)

Michael Rottinghaus (Seneca)

Nguyen Shearman (Leavenworth)

Alisha Simonin (Wathena)

Jordann Smith (Wichita)

Peter Strahm (Sabetha)

Tyler Thieme (Hiawatha)

William Young (Wichita)

Back to News »

What's Happening At Highland