What's New

Highland PTK Students Earn Top Scholarships

published April 17, 2018Highland PTK Students Earn Top Scholarships

Devon Johnson, a Highland Community College sophomore from Sabetha, and Savannah Claire Morgan, a sophomore from Dozier Alabama, have been named as 2018 Coca-Cola Scholars and will receive scholarships to continue their studies as four-year institutions.  Morgan and Johnson received the top two awards to members of Phi Theta Kappa from the state of Kansas.  This is the first time both awards were made to students from Highland. 

Morgan was named the top Kansas scholar and recipient of the 2018 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar based on the score she earned in the All-USA Academic Team competition, for which more than 2,000 applications were received.  The New Century Pathway Scholar program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Foundation and the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, with additional support provided by the American Association of Community Colleges and Phi Theta Kappa. 

Johnson was named a Coca-Cola Gold Scholar. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars with nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each scholar also receives a commemorative medallion. 

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said J. Mark Davis, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa and make it possible for deserving students to achieve their educational goals.”  Students are nominated for the academic team by their college administrators. Selection is based on academic achievement, leadership, and engagement in college and community service.

Coca-Cola Academic Team members will be recognized in both local and statewide ceremonies and will also be recognized internationally during Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention, PTK Catalyst, April 19-21 in Kansas City, Missouri. 

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier international honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.  Another Highland student, Obinna Muoh, is currently serving as an International Vice President, having been elected to that office last year at the International Convention in Nashville, TN.

Back to News »

What's Happening At Highland